Friday , November 22 2019
Home / australia / Woman's fault About parents who support you, despite a $ 150,000 salary

Woman's fault About parents who support you, despite a $ 150,000 salary



[ad_1]

A Millennial lawyer has detailed how she spends her money, including that despite her huge $ 150,000 salary, she still gets financial help from her dad and dad.

In a rare honest conversation with whimn.com.au about her finances, the Sydney woman made the brutal confession – she feels guilty about how generous her parents are.

Here's the full break of her money spending at the How We Spend It series.

The basics

Age: 27

Occupation: Attorney

Industry: Legal

Location: Sydney

Salary: $ 150,000 (super included), plus bonuses. Last year, my bonus was around 20 percent, but it depends on the amount of my billable goal.

Pay slip: $ 8000 / month (still tax)

HECS / Help debt: $ 0 (my parents paid for my university)

Super Total: $ 42,300

Debt: $ 0 – I pay my credit card off every month. This month I'll pay $ 1600 because I put most of my spending on it.

Savings: $ 120,000. Some of those (less than half) were inherited when my grandmother died last year.

For more stories like this, go to whimn.com.au

Monthly expenses

Rent: $ 870 / month for my half (my partner pays the other half). We serve our apartment from family, so we do not pay the full market rate.

Insurance: $ 0 (my parents pay for my health insurance and I do not have a car).

Living amenities: $ 0 (parents pay water, power, etc.)

Phone: $ 0 (work pays)

Other Tech: $ 0. I use the Netflix and Stan accounts of my boyfriend and my parents pay for Wi-Fi.

Savings: I try to save 30-50 per cent per month, typically between $ 2,000 and $ 3,500. I also plan to put the most, if not all, of my savings and my trip to the US. There. Later this year. I set a goal this January to save $ 50,000 this year. I'm a little bit meanwhile but hopefully my bonus helps.

Investment: I just started putting $ 500 / month into my vanguard ETF account (a low cost managed fund that allows me to invest in a portfolio of ASX 200 shares without having to pick and choose stocks individually).

Last year, I added 10% of my bonus and chose to buy dividends, which was a little scary at the beginning of the year when I was on a negative turn, but on average over the last six months I was More than 6 percent.

Lock account: I put up $ 400 a month and he puts $ 600 a month just because he earns a little more than me and eats a lot more!

Two gym members: one is $ 45 / week (fantasy work gym) and the other $ 15 / week (home gym).

Annual Expenses

Health: I set aside $ 250 / year for the doctor and $ 250 / year for the dentist.

The Logbook

DAY ONE

Morning

I wake up at 6 am and go to the gym. I take a scoop of pre-workout powder with water and do a Kayla itines wheat workout for 40 minutes. The gym is conveniently about 800m from my apartment.

I go home, shower and get dressed for work. I make a bowl of oats with protein powder, berries and peanut butter. I get the ferry every morning and my opal card is automatically running when it is running low (it works out to be about $ 6 a drive or $ 60 every two weeks).

It's quite expensive, but nothing is beating a port drive every morning! I also like to listen to podcasts – it's today Shame. I arrive at 9:00 am and order a soy cappuccino from our subsidized internal cafe ($ 2).

Noon

After a busy morning, I heat the chicken, roast veggie and feta salad I brought home. I try to prepare most of my launches and snacks because of (because) health and (b) the food situation around work sucks.

While I eat I leave mecca and decide to order some new drunk elephant products – Marula face oil, moisturizer and hydration serum ($ 225). I got regular facials, but decided that they were too expensive, so now I have a little bit of skincare this year, suggesting to relax pressure-related wrinkles.

I also order a bottle of champagne and a balloon for my friend and her fiance who lives overseas because I can't get to their engagement party ($ 100).

I work at my desk all afternoon and have yoghurt with muesli from home at 3pm.

Evening

I leave the job at 6 pm today and grab the ferry home for once (late night is a regular adventure). Living is on so the drive home is beautiful. My boyfriend and I cook steak with chipotle butter, broccoli and sweet potato chips. I love it when we have time during the week to cook together. We watch a few episodes of Love Island And share a tub of Halo Top before you go to bed.

DAILY TOTAL: $ 327

DAY TWO

Morning

Woke up late and skipped the gym. I took a long time with almond milk on the way to the ferry ($ 3.50). I forgot to charge my AirPods so I read – I've just started Boy swallows the universe (They were said to persist). My goal is to read 25 books this year, but I & # 39; have only read five until now!

I order a slice of bread with a almond milk cappuccino from our cafe ($ 5). I feel a little dirty today so decide that I went on a healthy bridge. I leave Amazon and impulsively order a set of Bluetooth scales ($ 23 and $ 9 delivery same day).

Noon

I heat up some baked chicken, green beans, potatoes and home-made sriracha mayonnaise and I have a protein drink around 2pm. It's disgusting: what would mix coffee and yoghurt together? Someone brought muffins, so I have a handful of licorice bullets.

I decided this morning my eyebrows were overdue. I book a sneaky appointment over lunch for a wax and ink ($ 75). I would like to start getting my nails on a regular basis, but I don't know if I can communicate with them.

I tried the extensions in the past and all of them fell off on night one, so it was a disaster. I have been tossing up the feather tattoo but I'm not sure if I can justify $ 1000 for this.

Night

My afternoon is absolutely manic and finally work until 20:00 (sad face). I get a taxi home (work pays) to change quickly. My aunt invited us to join her and my cousins ​​in a corporate box. I chuck on jeans, boots and a blazer and my boyfriend orders a Uber to the SCG on the joint account ($ 22).

I have a few glasses of champagne, some canapes and a plate of noodles (all free). We were home ($ 25). Joining finance has helped us so much hassle; I don't know what we shouldn't do before

DAILY TOTAL: $ 134.30

Date Three

Morning

Thank God it's the weekend! My mother and brother are staying with us and we go for a walk on the beach. Shah pay for our coffee. We decide to go for a late-morning breakfast.

I get a "healthy dish" with poached egg, smoked salmon, brown rice, avocado, kala and pickles and almond milk cappuccino. I pick this tag and my brother pays me back ($ 40).

Noon

I make a dish with protein oats, blueberries, yoghurt and peanut butter and then to my local gym. The aircon is broken (so it stinks) but I force myself to stay and do 30 minutes of wheat and 20 minutes of cardio.

When I came home, my Pe Nation came from earlier this week. I have a great try and decide that I like a puffer jacket, jumper and singlet, and will give back some leggings and some sports bras that aren't right ($ 400). Mum and I binge Real housewives of Beverly Hills On the couch all afternoon.

Night

I run to the local Voolies to pick up dinner and nibbles ($ 60) as we have some friends. We make steak with balsamic mushrooms, rocket and pear salad, along with a cheesecake. I have a glass of wine (we already have a bottle of home) and we have some Easter eggs for dessert.

DAILY TOTAL: $ 500

Day four

Morning

Arrive at 8 am and we all go for a walk. We go for breakfast in Paddington. I ordered rye toasted, poached eggs, avocado and two soy cappuccino ($ 30).

Noon

I go to a local pilates studio and take a class of friends. I buy 12 class packs for sale for $ 200. It's still expensive and I know I spend a lot of money on fitness, but working out is one of my favorite hobbies.

I get into the chemist and pick up a new face cream for mom and I ($ 100). Then we go to Voulies and Shah their generous offers to take the bill (it was $ 170 per week). My parents are very generous. Because they take care of a lot of my expenses, I really feel guilty if I'm not smart with my money. Deep down I am also a little worried that I will not be on a high income forever and that I will be exhausted.

Night

I'm going to see Aladdin With my boyfriend ($ 60 for tickets, popcorn, and multitaskers on the joint account). There is a nice way to end the week. Unfortunately when we come home I have a few emails to reply to, so I spend about an hour doing this before I call it a night.

DAILY TOTAL: $ 154.00

DAY FIVE

Morning

I wake up feeling bad. I literally never get sick and am very reluctant to take a day off work, but I also hate people who come into the office so that I know how to work from home. I sleep most of the morning.

Noon

I wake up, make some pumpkin soup and toast and realize I have a heap of emails to get to and new documents to get out tonight. I do not feel great, but performance reviews so I need to push through.

Night

My boyfriend comes home, I cook a strawberry beef and we go to bed early. This would have been a $ 0 spending day, but I check my bank balance and realize I'm after charging for a HayU subscription, I thought I canceled months ago ($ 6).

DAILY TOTAL: ($ 6)

This article originally appeared on Whimn.com.au and is reproduced with permission

[ad_2]
Source link